You are here: Home / News / Announcing 2019 Ogden Honors Book Clubs

Announcing 2019 Ogden Honors Book Clubs

Faculty-Led Honors Book Clubs Available for Spring 2019

This semester the Ogden Honors College will once again offer the chance for students to take part in various faculty-moderated book clubs. The book clubs will meet four to seven times a semester and end before finals week. There are no fees or grades associated with the book clubs.

Headed by prestigious campus figures such as LSU President F. King Alexander, the book clubs will provide a unique opportunity for students to experience faculty mentorship and guidance outside of their subject area while discussing a shared read. Book options include OPPENHEIMER by Tom Morton-Smith, Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte, Monument by Natasha Trethewey, The Social Conquest of Earth by E. O. Wilson, The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century by Kirk Wallace Johnson, The Price of Inequality: How Today's Divided Society Endangers Our Future by Joseph E. Stiglitz, Catching the Light by Arthur Zajonc, Thirst for Power by Michael Webber.

The chosen texts will be supplied by the Ogden Honors College for free and will be available upon admission into the club after signing up for a slot.

Associate Dean Dr. Granger Babcock, who has championed the book club initiative, has stressed that this is a great opportunity for Ogden Honors students to immerse themselves in new content. Much like the HNRS courses, the book clubs will provide a seminar-style environment for students to share ideas with others and hear perspectives different from their own.

“Ogden Honors College book clubs are not about adding extra homework,” said Ogden Honors College Dean Jonathan Earle. “They demonstrate that reading something that’s not on the syllabus — is one of life’s great pleasures.” 

Click here for a brief overview of book club leaders and their selections. 

Clubs will begin the first week of February (February 4 - 8). The deadline to sign up is January 23. To register and for any additional information, contact Alyssa Dobson at