You are here: Home / News / Honors College Students Awarded Goldwater Scholarship and Honorable Mention

Honors College Students Awarded Goldwater Scholarship and Honorable Mention

Honors College Students Awarded Goldwater Scholarship and Honorable Mention

Mytrang Do, 2011 Goldwater Scholar (Image from:


Mytrang Do has been selected as a 2011 Goldwater Scholar and Winston Capps has been selected a 2011 Honorable Mention. Both are Honors College students. 

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was established by Congress in 1986 to honor Senator Barry M. Goldwater.

Mytrang Do, a LaSTEM Research Scholar and an Honors College biochemistry junior, was selected as a Goldwater Scholar on the basis of academic merit from over 1,000 mathematics, science, and engineering students who were nominated by the faculties of colleges and universities nationwide.

Do has been working in Dr. Vince LiCata’s biophysical laboratory for the past three years, investigating the origins of the thermostability of thermophilic protein and characterizing the behavior of Klendra, a DNA polymerase fragment. She hopes to earn a M.D./Ph.D. in Virology and go on to develop novel treatments that will eradicate HIV from the human host. 

Winston Capps, also a LaSTEM Scholar, is currently an Honors College mechanical engineering junior studying under the supervision of Dr. Michael Cherry. He plans to participate in field tests at the LSU Nuclear Science building and at Entergy’s River Bend nuclear reactor that will determine LaBRAT's sensitivity for detecting weak, extended, or moving sources.  After earning his Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering, Capps hopes to design aerospace vehicles and use them to conduct research on astronomical phenomena. 

The Goldwater Scholarship will cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board, up to a maximum of $7,500 per year.

The Foundation awards scholarships to outstanding college students who plan to pursue careers in math or science-related fields.

Previous Goldwater Scholars from the LSU Honors College include Tyler Crosby (2009-2010), Brian Goh, Leah Rebecca Muller, Michael Parent, Nabil Thalji (2007 – 2008), John Casey, Claire Kendig (2006-07), Katherine E. Faust, Nickolas M. VanMeter, and Jacquelyn W. Zimmerman (2005-2006). 

“Their great success in the Goldwater competition is a wonderful testament to LSU as a Research I University — the fact that undergraduates get to do research in labs from the moment they step on this campus is what prepares them for all the great things they’ll do,” said Dr. Drew Lamonica Arms, Director of Fellowship Advising.

The Honors College Office of Fellowship Advising assists students in applying for prestigious post-graduate scholarships and fellowships. Students interested in applying for these and other scholarship opportunities should contact