You are here: Home / News / Outstanding Students Honored at Award Ceremony

Outstanding Students Honored at Award Ceremony

Exemplary students recognized Fall 2012 Awards Ceremony

The LSU Honors College recently held its annual Awards and Recognition Ceremony at the LSU Student Union in the Atchafalaya room, recognizing outstanding students who have excelled in service, academics, and research.

Honors College Dean Nancy Clark delivered a welcome address, expressing her admiration of the students’ achievements and offering her gratitude to the family members and friends of the award recipients for showing their support.

Fourteen different awards and scholarships were presented, and fifty-eight students were recognized for earning Sophomore Honors Distinction, which signals academic excellence in the first half of the Honors program.

One of the highest honors recognized included the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship won by Carl Sabottke, a chemistry junior who was selected for the prestigious award on the basis of academic merit from a pool of over 1,000 mathematics, science, and engineering students nationwide.

Dean Clark closed with asking the audience to reflect upon the time and energy involved in earning these prestigious awards.

“We have a lot of accomplishments to celebrate here today,” said Dean Clark, “I just want each of us to take a moment to think about all of the hours of work that these students have put into these achievements. Because I can tell you that you don’t get these kinds of accomplishments without a lot of hard work, and we really appreciate it.”

Other awards included the Honors College Service Award, the Honors College Outstanding Student Awards, the Shell Honors Student Leaders Scholarships, and the Tiger Athletic Foundation Thesis Research Scholarships.

Congratulations to the following award winners:


Honors College Service Award

Christine A. Derbins 



Harry S Truman Scholarship

Leslie Ann Leavoy (Finalist)


Shell Honors Student Leaders

MaryKate Francis Core

Lauren Elizabeth Deville

John Michael Domingo

Nathan Carl Grotte


Starmount Life Insurance Study Abroad Scholarship

Erin Alexandra Baldwin

Jacob Christian Cooper

Christian L. Hess

Michelle Jean Limbaugh

Noelle Tollett


Tiger Athletic Foundation Study Abroad Scholarship

Madeline Alexandra Anes

Kristin Taylor Barnes

Louis D. Benedetto

Nathan Ross Blanchard

Melanie M. Carroll

Cristina Alice Giles

Charles Ray Halliburton

Steven Michael Hollander

Kori Celeste Lutenbacher

Thuy-Mai Cristina Nguyen

Thomas Mark Rockwell

Allison M. Sage

Amy Elizabeth Seldon

Andrea Victoria Stacy

Morgan Lindsey Taylor

Sarah E. Theriot

Christopher Ryan VanDreumel

Rachel Jeanne Zavecz


DAAD RISE Scholarship

 Jacob Richard Desmond



Sophomore Honors Distinction

Daniel Cabrido Alcanzare

Laren M. Alexander

Lacy Rochelle Brooks

Nathan Edward Bush

Kristen Nicole Callais

Melanie M. Carroll

Amanda Nicole Cooper

Linda June Cross

Logan Carmen Delabarre-Hays

Jacqueline Maria DeRobertis

Rachel E. Dianiska

Kristin Marie Dobies

Allison E. Dolan

Andrea Elizabeth Gallo

Xingjian Gao

Jennifer A. Harrison

Andrea Claire Hartley

Hannah Nicole Hebert

Christian L. Hess

Steven Michael Hollander

Katilyn M. Hollowell

Meredith Eileen Keating

Sean Lauderdale King

Chelsea Elizabeth Kliebert

Aimee E. Landry

Ashten Rae Landry

Trang Le

Logan E. Leblanc

Michelle Jean Limbaugh

Edward Limin Lo

Allyson C. Lutz

Katherine Elizabeth Macdonald

Brian Joseph Mackel

Christa T. Mahlobo

Morgan Leigh Matchett

Jacob Daniel McAlpin

Sally Kay McPherson

Brian D. Mickey

Cody James Neal

Eric M. Newberry

Thuy-Mai Cristina Nguyen

Catherine Elizabeth Parsiola

Shelby K. Pursley

Megan Joy Rials

Angelo Louise Sayo

Kaitlin Elizabeth Simmons

Jesse William Tate

Morgan Lindsey Taylor

Evan Christopher Terrell

Victoria Lynn Thibodeaux

Kalena Senta Thomhave

Jacqueline H. Trautman

Cassidy A. Von Springer

Jackson Gregory Voss

Rachel M. Voss

Emily Claire Watkins

Meredith Noelle Will

Abigail Maria Woltering


Tiger Athletic Foundation Award for Promising National Scholars

Linda June Cross

Zachary Louis Fitzpatrick

Alex Edward Hotard

Jesse Lu

Grace Elizabeth Reinke

Carley Angela Tatman

Kalena Senta Thomhave

Jeremy Robert Tillay


Honors College Outstanding Students 2012

Catherine Harwood Lowe (Freshman)

Grace Elizabeth Reinke (Freshman)

Jacob Richard Desmond (Sophomore)

Corey Raymond Landry (Sophomore)

 Christine A. Derbins (Junior)

Catherine Celeste Fontenot (Junior)

Kalpanee Dhanushika Gunasingha (Junior)


John Hardy Blue Scholarship

Lauryn Nicole Lents

Amanda Danielle Mayhall


William L Jenkins Scholarship

Victor Fernandez-Kim

Brandon Mikael Stewart


Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship

Carl Frederick Sabottke

Zachary Louis Fitzpatrick (Honorable Mention)

Corey Raymond Landry (Honorable Mention)

Tiffany LaShay Lemon (Honorable Mention)


Ernest F Hollings Scholarship

Jonathan Edward Lambert


 Morris K Udall Scholarship

Jacob Christian Cooper (Honorable Mention)


Tiger Athletic Foundation Thesis Research Scholarships

Mollye Elizabeth Baker

Arundhati Bakshi

Alex Michael Braud

Daniel James Case

Cristina Alice Giles

Leigh Anne Phillips

Shelby K. Pursley

William A. Russell

Douglas Graham Secrest

Amy Elizabeth Seldon

Angelica Raven Simmons

Vikramjeet Singh

Bonnie Jean Slaton

Jessica Leigh Wasiloski

Remi Aleaha Wilson