You are here: Home / News / 2013 LSU Honors College Awards Ceremony

2013 LSU Honors College Awards Ceremony

Honors students were celebrated for their outstanding achievements in the Oct. 20 ceremony.
2013 LSU Honors College Awards Ceremony

Sophomore Honors Distinction recipients pose for a picture after the awards ceremony.

The LSU Honors College celebrated outstanding Honors students with its annual Awards Ceremony in the Union’s Atchafalaya Room.  The Oct. 20 ceremony recognized more than 120 students who excelled in service, academics and research.  It also recognized those who received study abroad scholarships and are writing their Honors Thesis.  Forty students received Sophomore Honors Distinction awards.  Vice Chancellor for Research and Economic Development Kalliat T. Valsaraj addressed the students and guests.

The Honors College Service Award is presented annually to students who have demonstrated exemplary service to the Honors College and community. The recipients this year are Linda Cross and Morgan Matchett.

The Harry S. Truman Scholarship is awarded to college juniors who plan to pursue graduate degrees in public service fields.  Recipients this year from the LSU Honors College are Catherine Fontenot and Matt Landrieu.

The Morris K. Udall Scholarship provides support for students pursuing undergraduate studies in a field addressing environmental or Native American tribal issues.  Recipients this year from the LSU Honors College are Jonathan Lambert and Erin Percevault, who received an honorable mention.

The Public Policy and International Affairs Fellowship prepares college juniors or rising seniors from diverse backgrounds for graduate studies in public or international affairs.  The fellowship prepares students for professional roles in public service.  Honors College student Jackson Voss received the award this year.

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship provides support for undergraduates pursuing research careers in the natural sciences, mathematics or engineering.  Recipients this year from the LSU Honors College are Bruno Beltran, Corey Landry, and both Zachary Fitzpatrick and Paxton Turner, who received honorable mentions.

Roger Hadfield Ogden Leaders Award grants $5,000 to a student who designs and conducts an original project focused on an issue in Louisiana. The award is to be used for travel, equipment or other expenses directly related to the student’s project.  The recipient this year is Aryanna Prasad.

Shell Honors Student Leader Awards are given annually to four entering Honors freshmen majoring in business, coast and environment, engineering and science.  The students receive annual stipends.  The recipients this year are Iordan Bossev, Giuseppe Feo, Caroline Limbaugh and Brianna Robinson.

Aimee Landry received a DAAD RISE Internship, which is for undergraduate students from the United States, Canada or the United Kingdom majoring in biology, chemistry, physics, earth sciences or engineering. The internship allows students to work with research groups at universities and top research institutions across Germany for two to three months during the summer.

Logan Delabarre-Hays received a Critical Language Scholarship, which sends students to intensive summer language institutes overseas in critical need of foreign languages. 

The Penelope W. and E. Roe Stamps IV Leadership Scholars Award gives students a full cost of university attendance for four years, as well as a potential $14,000 for enrichment experiences.  The recipients for 2012 and 2013 are Kathryn Carr, Zachary Faircloth, George Owen and Joseph St. Cyr.

The 2013 Honors College Outstanding Students are freshmen Kurt Ristroph and Chauncey Stephens, sophomores Jesse Clifton and Grace Reinke, juniors Logan Delabarre-Hays and Zachary Fitzpatrick.

The John Hardy Blue Scholarship is annually awarded to high-achieving students from Texas.  The recipients this year are Gabrielle Brewer and Lindsey Spillman.

The William L. Jenkins Scholarship is annually awarded to minority students majoring in business or engineering.  The students receive $4,000 throughout four years of studying at Louisiana State University.  The recipients this year are Natalie Burges and Jon Mitchell.

Tiger Athletic Foundation Study Abroad Scholarship recipients:  Jonathan Aker, Dylan Barclay, Monica Bergeron, Jane Craig, Caroline Donze, Claire Evans, Rosalie Haug, Sergio Hurtado, Jr., Steven Olsen, Marlee Pittman, Joshua Saltz, Marshall Thompson and Catherine Warner.

Tiger Athletic Foundation Award for Promising National Scholars recipients:  Jared Able, Monica Bravo, John Clawson, Norwood Hingle IV, Jennifer Kenyon, Aryanna Prasad, Kurt Ristroph, Chauncey Stephens and Christopher Sylvester. 

Tiger Athletic Foundation Thesis Research Scholarships recipients:  Melanie Carroll, Katherine Crocker, Linda Cross, Logan Delabarre-Hays, Rachel Dianiska, Allyson French, Xingjian Gao, Mark Gibson, Dorothee Goettert, Carlos Gonzalez, Laura Heisick, Christian Hess, Steven Hollander, Katelyn Jackson, Jonathan Lambert, Markita Lewis, Michelle Limbaugh, Katherine Macdonald, Olivia McClure, Jocelyn Miller, Eric Newberry, Kyle Paulk, Wendy Pippin, Megan Rials, Angelo Sayo, Taylor Simon, Jackson Voss, Meredith Will, Ashley Willis, Jamie Yousten and Yue Zhao.