You are here: Home / News / Awards Ceremony Recognizes Outstanding Honors Students

Awards Ceremony Recognizes Outstanding Honors Students


This past Sunday, the LSU Honors College community gathered to celebrate the outstanding achievements of its students at its 2014 Awards Ceremony. Honors College staff, faculty, students, and their families gathered at the Business Education Complex auditorium for the ceremony and a luncheon reception.

Students who achieved Sophomore Honors Distinction in Spring 2014 were recognized. Students receiving various Honors College scholarships and awards, and students receiving national and international fellowships, were also congratulated.


Service Awards

Chauncey Elise Stephens and Kurt Ristroph received the Honors College Service Award.

Kurt Ristroph received the Honors College Roger Hadfield Ogden Leaders Award.

William Branch Abbott, Catherin Mary Albano, Katie Renee Como, and Brian Thomas Womeldurf received Shell Honors Student Leaders Scholarships.

Marlee Pittman received the Harry S. Truman Scholarship.

Erin M. Percevault received the Landscape Architecture Foundation’s Olmsted Scholarship.

AshLee M. Smith received a Public Policy and International Affairs (PPIA) Fellowship.


Study Abroad Awards

Students receiving a Tiger Athletic Foundation Honors College Study Abroad Scholarship were also recognized (many are studying abroad this fall): Landon Jules Antley, Nathan Ross Babb, Emily Marie Owen, Alexandra Lindsey Willis, Sarah Nicole Zaunbrecher, and Jessica Zhuo.

Nathan Ross Babb received a DAAD German Academic Exchange Scholarship.


Research & Thesis Awards

JoLena Ann Broussard received the Honors College Student Council Research Scholarship.

The following students received Tiger Athletic Foundation Honors Thesis Research Scholarships:

  • Katherine Adele Ball
  • Samantha Lynn Bares
  • Haley Elizabeth Barlow
  • Jordan R. Croy
  • David Alan Fertitta
  • Zachary Louis Fitzpatrick
  • Endya Lynn Hash
  • Sergio David Hurtado, Jr.
  • Rachael Tara Keller
  • Leslie Michelle LaCoste
  • Matthew James Landry
  • Mitchell Keith Mason
  • Jason Donald Mueller
  • Grace Elizabeth Reinke
  • Michelle Leigh St. Romain
  • Christopher Brian Sylvester

Brandon Richard Oubre and Paxton M. Turner received Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships, with Rachael Tara Keller and Paul Dryden Koenig receiving Honorable Mention.


Academic Excellence Awards

The following students received Sophomore Honors Distinction in Spring 2014:

Sophomore Honors Distinction recipients

Naseem Hussein Alammar Kylie Shae Hebert Keyser
Carlie Lynne Amore Nicholas James Klinka
Nathan Ross Babb Brittni M Lanoux
Jeremy Scott Baldassaro Jennifer Khanh Le
Hannah Greer Barkley Tyler Martin Lollis
Thomas Oliver Beckstrom James Hugh Lynch
Dominique Melicere Becnel Amanda Danielle Mayhall
Adam Michael Beyer Hannah Sue McLain
Kaylyn Elizabeth Blosser Mariel Marie McLaughlin
Seth Abraham Bombet Mason Reed McManus
Madison Taylor Boudreaux Christopher Taylor McVicker
Molly Bernice Bourg William L Melancon
Nicholas Christopher Braud Andrew Paul Mullet
Monica Elaine Bravo Jordan Joseph Nuss
Lexie Lynne Breaux Andrew Paul Olivier
Christian Anthony Brower Sagar Ramesh Patel
John Garrett Clawson Haley Marie Paulish
Warner J Delaune III Aryanna Pauline Prasad
Mark Feuer Ditusa Jon-Eric Prather
Elise Catherine Doran Rachel Anne Rhodes
Joshua David Edwards Kurt David Ristroph
Andrew Michael Ferry Taylor A Robertson
Colin Edward Fulham Joshua Ryan Saltz
Laura Elizabeth Garcia Mary Katherine Schober
Stephanie Paige Gilbert Kira Alana Schuette
Richard Frank Guidry Mollie Marie Smoak
Katie JoAnna Hogan Chauncey Elise Stephens
Majdal Khairieh Ismail Jon Hunter Strohmeyer
Sung Eun Jung Eric J Toups
Jennifer An Kenyon Elizabeth Julia Weltman

The following students were named Honors College Outstanding Students for the 2013-2014 academic year:

  • Sarah Katelynn Corie (Freshman)
  • Blake Peter Kruger (Freshman)
  • Adam Michael Beyer (Sophomore)
  • Kurt David Ristroph (Sophomore)
  • Bruno Gabriel Beltran (Junior)
  • Catherine Hardwood Lowe (Junior)

Adam Michael Beyer, Sarah Katelynn Corie, David Thomas Judd, Joan Crockett Lyons, and Jon-Eric Prather received the Tiger Athletic Foundation Honors College Award for Promising National Scholars.

Lauren Felicia Baxter and Brenna Catherine Johnson received the John Hardy Blue Scholarship.

Kloe M. Liner received the William L. Jenkins Scholarship.  

Faiz Alam, Ruth Catherine Dunn, Leah Nicole Sanders, Ellen Lucy Simon, and Ross Travis Teichman received the Penelope W. and E. Roe Stamps IV Leadership Scholars Award.


To view more photos of this event, please visit our Facebook page