You are here: Home / News / Honors College Graduates 71 Students

Honors College Graduates 71 Students

Graduating Seniors Recognized at Award Ceremony

Recently, The LSU Honors College graduated 71 students and recognized outstanding seniors during the Honors College graduation ceremony.

The graduation ceremony, which was held in the Music and Dramatic Arts Building’s Claude Shaver Theatre, recognized Honors College seniors who graduated in Good Standing and also awarded the students who completed an undergraduate thesis.   

Thirty-two students earned College Honors, and nine earned the Upper Division Honors Distinction.

Students graduating from the Upper Division Honors Program received their white Honor Cords and Bachelor’s Hoods, which were also worn at LSU’s 274th commencement exercises on Friday, May 20

Ian Cruise and Christine Baniewicz won the Leo and Insa Abraham Award (which is granted to two outstanding Honors College seniors each year) and Mark “Doc” Dochterman won the Doc Amborski Award.

“The Honors College Graduation Ceremony is an opportunity to celebrate the significant achievements each student has accomplished,” said Autumn Montgomery, Honors College Upper Division Academic Advisor. “They have diligently earned every award and distinction bestowed upon them at our ceremony, and it is an honor and a cherished opportunity to say farewell.”

The following students graduated with College Honors, completing a minimum of 32 hours of honors coursework including the upper-division honors program:



Alexandria: Rachel Miller, mass communication

Baton Rouge: Theresa Atkinson, psychology; Chad Gremillion, psychology; Emily Halk, political science and international studies & German; Kelly Heim, anthropology; John Milligan, philosophy; Aubrey Thibaut, international studies and political science

Belle Chasse: Noah McGill, petroleum engineering

Clinton: Daniel Lum, physics

Covington: Marie Perret, liberal arts and French

Kenner: Phoebe Hathorn, finance

Lafayette: Christine Baniewicz, threatre; Jeffrey Cunniff, biochemisty; Jonathan LeJune, architecture; Lindsay Rabalais, mass communication and international studies

Lake Charles: Laura Carleton, management

Loreauville: Danielle Borel, management

Madisonville: Katie Hamel, biological sciences

Metairie: Edward Bukaty IV, economics; Mari Russ, architecture

Monroe: Christina Jones, history

Natchitoches: Ian Cruise, philosophy

New Orleans: Christy Hedlund, psychology; Andrew Schwehm, psychology and English

Plaquemine: Lacy Hebert, international studies and French; Courtney Humphrey, biological sciences

Ponchatoula: Stephanie Stevens, mass communication and sociology

Slidell: Elizabeth Moffett, anthropology; Jessica Rosselot, biological sciences

Zachary: Bradley Wood, biological sciences and philosophy



Fairview: Claire Hanchey, sociology



Houston: Emily Perkins, history


The following students graduated with the Upper Division Honors Distinction for completing the upper-division honors program:



Baton Rouge: Diana Badkoobeh, nutritional sciences; Jessica Harrison, anthropology; Christine Pyle, English and French; Alicia Rodriguez, nutritional sciences

Covington: Alejandra Vargas, psychology

New Orleans: Nicole Horne, French

Plaquemine: Amanda Callegan, biological sciences



Lexington: Querida Christian, sociology



Brentwood: Nicholas Mataya, history