You are here: Home / News / LSU Honors College Graduates 141 Students

LSU Honors College Graduates 141 Students

LSU Honors College Graduates 141 Students

Dean Clark and the 2010 Outstanding Seniors Katherine Smith and Lauren Fogarty

Thirty-Two Earn College Honors, Six Earn Upper Division Honors Distinction

BATON ROUGE – The LSU Honors College graduated 141 students at the university’s 271st commencement exercises this Spring.  Among these students, 32 achieved the college's highest recognition - College Honors (completing a Senior Thesis project and finishing 32 hours of Honors course credit maintaining a minimum GPA of 3.5) and 6 achieved Upper Division Honors Distinction (completing a Senior Thesis project and a minimum of 12 hours Honors course credit maintaining a 3.5 GPA).  Additionally, the Honors College gave special recognition to students who successfully completed and defended an undergraduate thesis.

The following students (listed by hometown) graduated with College Honors, receiving the Sophomore Honors Distinction and completing the Upper-Division Honors program:


Baker: Laura Blair Naquin, management and human resource education
Baton Rouge: Sarah Honore’ Berard, English; Brandon Michael Boyd, coastal environmental science; Christina Marie Gary, communication disorders; Nicole Marie Hanney, psychology and communication disorders; Colleen Siobhan King, theatre; Chelsea A. Lewis, anthropology; Shawn Joe Lin, liberal arts; Madeline Berry Peters, mass communication; Katherine Hollister Smith, mathematics and general studies; Rachel Linwood Zimmerman, English
Denham Springs: Micaela Layne deGruy, mass communication
Kaplan: Margaret Elizabeth Looney, mass communication
Lafayette: Alyssa Marie Matthews, studio art; Sarah Adele Miller, accounting; Michael William Rongey, architecture; Jessica Lynn Swiney, political science
Mandeville: Mary Grace Michelle Verges, architecture
Metairie: Elizabeth Rita Spence, English and liberal arts
New Iberia: James Allen Hostetter, physics
New Orleans: Abigail Araoluwa Omojola, political science
Ruston: Kevin James Campbell, biological sciences and French
Scott: Michael Jude Richard, history and philosophy
Slidell: Sarah Kaye Slocum, psychology


Montrose: Laura Elizabeth Smith, English


Highland Park: Paige Elizabeth Nichols, political science and economics


Oxford: Sarah Kathryn Gates, international studies and German


Collierville: Katelyn Mariana Wannage, French and international studies


Austin: Colleen M. McKinney, English
Houston: Emily Jane Meyers, accounting
Katy: James Grant Rabalais, animal, dairy & poultry sciences and biological sciences
Orange: Jamie Lynn Dolezal, international studies and history
The following students graduated with the Upper Division Honors Distinction:


Baton Rouge: Grady Ausbur Fortner, biochemistry
Boyce: Amy Lynn Sewell, communication disorders
Greenwell Springs: Aaron Paul Landry, biochemistry
Kenner: Wade James Trosclair, history
Madisonville: Joseph Adrian Falcon-Freeman, anthropology
Prairieville: Caitlyn Leigh Haines, nutritional science