You are here: Home / News / LSU Ogden Honors College Graduates 113 Students

LSU Ogden Honors College Graduates 113 Students

Graduating Senior Distinctions Conferred at Spring 2019 Ceremony
LSU Ogden Honors College Graduates 113 Students

Class of 2019

The LSU Ogden Honors College graduated 113 students and recognized outstanding seniors during the Ogden Honors College Spring 2019 graduation ceremony.

The graduation ceremony, which was held in the Music and Dramatic Arts Building’s Claude Shaver Theatre, recognized all Honors College seniors and also awarded the students who completed an undergraduate thesis.   

Eighty of the graduates wrote and defended an Honors thesis, with 18 of these earning upper division honors distinction and 48 earning college honors and upper division honors distinction.

The class of 2019 includes a Udall scholar, who was the first LSU student to win this award twice, and a Truman scholar finalist. In addition, three students were selected to participate in the inaugural governor’s fellows program, eight graduates have been selected to Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest distinguished honors society in the United States, and six were members of LSU’s Tiger Twelve class.

Many members of the 2019 Ogden Honors also graduated with Latin honors: 17 graduated cum laude, 11 graduated magna cum laude, 47 graduated summa cum laude, and 34 of Ogden Honors graduates were university medalists.

The four students who received the Honors College Outstanding Thesis Award include: Chase Anselmo, Connor Burruss, Joshua Campbell, and Kristen Vicknair.

Madelyn Smith and Corey St. Romain won the Leo and Insa Abraham Award, which is granted to two outstanding Honors College seniors each year. Madelyn Smith and Morgan Johnson won the inaugural CC Dubois Award. The CC Dubois award is given to students who demonstrate sustained commitment to LSU and broader communities and passion for serving others through research and leadership.

The following students graduated with the Upper Division Honors Distinction for completing the upper division honors program, including a thesis:

Baton Rouge, La.:

  • Serena Nguyen, BS Psychology
  • Maria Torregrossa, BS Early Childhood Education

Covington, La.:

  • Jensen Chotto, BS Psychology

Fairhope, Ala.:

  • Lily Fontenot, BAMC Mass Communication, BA Spanish

Franklin, Tenn.:

  • Sarah Weiss, BA History

Houma, La.:

  • Rachel Haydel, BS Psychology

Lake Charles, La.:

  • Elizabeth Joseph, BS Psychology

Mandeville, La.:

  • Madison Liggio, BS Early Childhood Education
  •  Andrew Osborne, BS Geology
  • Glendon Rewerts, BS Physics

Metairie, La.:

  • David Gaines, BS Finance
  • Ashleigh Passafume, BA International Studies, BA Anthropology

Mobile, Ala.:

  • Lorenzo Gapud, BA Music

New Orleans, La.:

  • Dominique Carr, BS Psychology
  • Amy Turner, BS Kinesiology

Shelbyville, Ind.:

  • Nellie Yelvington, BA English, BA Anthropology

Slidell, La.:

  • Rebecca Wallace, BS Psychology

Youngsville, La.:

  • Emily Cook, BA Anthropology, BS Nutrition and Food Sciences


The following students graduated with College Honors, completing a minimum of 32 hours of honors coursework including the upper-division honors program:

Baton Rouge, La.:

  • Joseph Balhoff, BSChe Chemical Engineering
  • Joshua Campbell, BSChe Chemical Engineering
  • Andrew Chenevert,BS Accounting
  • Nabil Essajee, BS Biological Sciences, BA Liberal Arts
  • Mike Le, BS Biochemistry
  • Laurie Lyon, BS Microbiology
  • Marguerite Poche, BS Biological Sciences, BA Spanish
  • Connor Rouillier, BA Anthropology, BA Philosophy
  • Kayla Schwartzenburg, BS Biological Sciences
  • Olevia Sharbaugh, BS International Trade & Finance
  • Catherine Stewart, BS Management
  • Elizabeth Vukovics, BA English

Biloxi, Miss.:

  • Amy Veale, BAMC Mass Communication

Breaux Bridge, La.:

  • Sarah Thomas, BS Natural Resource Ecology & Management

Crowley, La.:

  • Hunter Lambert, BS Biochemistry

Edgewater, Md.:

  • Devin Comba, BSCES Coastal Environment Science

Friendswood, Texas:

  • Sarah Mahler, BA International Studies, LASAL Scholar

Frisco, Texas:

  • Staci Shelby, BA Political Science, BA French

Glasford, Ill.:

  • Charity Ringel, BA English

Hahnville, La.:

  • Drake Lambert, BS Computer Science

Houma, La.:

  • Karly Kyzar, BA Political Science, BA Sociology, BA History, LASAL Scholar

Kenner, La.:

  • Kaitlin Schuette, BArch Architecture

Lafayette, La.:

  • Madelyn Smith, BS Natural Resource Ecology & Management, LASAL Scholar

Lake Charles, La.:

  • Mary France, BS Animal Science
  • Raleigh Goodwin, BS Psychology, LASAL Scholar
  • Aaron LaHood, BS Accounting
  • Emma Looney, BA History, BA Political Science, LASAL Scholar

Lexington, Ky.:

  • Hannah Keller, BA Music
  • Jonah Rittenberry, BS Microbiology

Mandeville, La.:

  • Dominique Dolese, BS Biological Sciences
  • Ana Owen, BA English
  • Hunter Simonson, BSChe Chemical Engineering
  • Corey St. Romain, BS Biological Sciences, BS Chemistry

Maurice, La.:

  • Margaret Carey, BS Physics

Missouri City, Texas:

  • Dominique Angibeau, BSBE Biological Engineering

Mobile, Ala.:

  • Sheila Mallenahalli, BSBE Biological Engineering

Monroe, La.:

  • William Boles, BS Microbiology, LASAL Scholar

New Orleans, La.:

  • Connor Burruss, BA Sociology
  • Sarah Cohen, BS Biochemistry, BA Sociology
  • Melody Salmanian, BS Microbiology
  • Kristen Vicknair, BA History, BA Political Science, LASAL Scholar

Prairieville, La.:

  • Ryan Hoffman, BS Biological Sciences

Shalimar, Fla.:

  • Joseph Winston, BSCES Coastal Environment Science, BA History, LASAL Scholar

Shreveport, La.:

  • Omead Darvish, BS Biochemistry
  • Brandi Sun, BS Biological Sciences
  • Malcolm Youngblood, BS Biological Sciences

St. Francisville, La.:

  • Zoe Williamson, BAMC Mass Communication

Zachary, La.:

  • Katelyn Hardin, BS Kinesiology